Cloning or backing up your JVC HM-HDS1 hard drive.

For all discussions regarding the JVC HM-HDS1 (40GB hard disk and S-VHS recorder)

Moderators: Geert Jan, andywilks

User avatar
Andy Cippico
Site Admin
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 8:54 am
Location: England

Post by Andy Cippico » Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:33 am

Wayne... Wayne... Wayne...
Wayne... Wayne!
Wake up! You've been dreaming! Was it the one about JVC being a 'half decent manufacturer' again? Aww...
:lol:

Wayne
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:19 am

Post by Wayne » Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:37 am

hey, my old 9400 SVHS player is still working just fine, and kicks the ass out of the newer one for both picture and audio quality, not to mention features.

but i do agree with you, stuff has moved on considerably, thats why i have a Topfield PVR.... but, i do still like control over what i set to record, sky+ is way to reliant on the electronic program guide, not to mention they can record stuff to your hard drive without your permission

anyway... it's a bit of a mute point these days, i have 20mb broadband cable, the american tv schedule and some dam good download sites ;) i'm watching most tv stuff now via my pc on a 27" HD monitor :D

User avatar
Andy Cippico
Site Admin
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 8:54 am
Location: England

Post by Andy Cippico » Sun Aug 24, 2008 10:01 am

Yeah, some of the old stuff is still excellent. I remember paying just over £1000 for a JVC S5000EK S-VHS deck in 1990 (see pics below). I must have saved for several months to pay for that baby.
Image
Image
It also needed a fork-lift truck to put it on my hi-fi shelves.
Those were the days. How our children will laugh at us...

I'd stick to your PC setup. Sounds like you've got the best of all worlds there.

lop1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 3:57 pm
Location: Perros Guirec

much better but not really usable

Post by lop1 » Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:54 pm

It's driving me crazy. I have done the unplug start it without hd connector, shut it down and start it up with the hd connector. The device is working, I can look at my recordings, record, ....
The only real problem is that when I put it to sleep, it restart on his own every 30s or 1 minutes flick the blue light for some seconds and go back to sleep !!! and he lost all the settings like the mode I always set on SP...
I have tried with all my three HD ( I bought another spare one on ebay and cloned it from my original ), they all do the same....
Not very easy to use, have to unplug it and can' t program it...

Have you ever see that ? some advice on what I can do ?

I know it is an old device ( I already bought a liteon 160HD+DVD recorder and a sony 500HD and DVD recorder ) but the JVC has the very best user interface , and I will like it so much for my everyday usage, I can't stand letting it like that.

Laurent

from the Trestraou beach in Perros-Guirec

Wayne
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 11:19 am

Post by Wayne » Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:05 pm

i've never seen that before, but it doesnt sound good :(

Post Reply