DR-MH30S "R-LK" Adviser Pro NTSC?

For all discussions regarding JVC DVD recorders.

Moderator: andywilks

Post Reply
jerrymc
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:37 pm

DR-MH30S "R-LK" Adviser Pro NTSC?

Post by jerrymc »

Hello and thanks for a very informative site!

I have the DR-MH30S and yesterday as I was watching a recorded program, the system went into the "Loading..." with blue flashing display mode. I powered it off when it finished and got the "R-LK" message on the front panel display.

The unit will now only boot up with no TV display, but only "R-LK" on the front panel.

I've mounted the HD to my Linux box and ran a series of tests. It gave me some LBA Read Errors and of course tells me it has no partition and is is RAW format.
I've found the Adviser Pro (PAL) software and am running it on the unit now. (Although I can't see the TV display because I have a NTSC HDTV in the USA) It is displaying "test..." on the front panel display and the HD is reading/writing quite a bit from what I can hear.

This unit has already been to JVC's repair facility 3 times in the past.
The Caps all look fine, so I'm assuming JVC may have already replaced them. (Bought DVR new in 2005)

Does anyone know where I can find the Adviser Pro (NTSC) version, since I'm in the USA?

Also, does anyone know what HD format JVC is using on these Maxtor drives and is it possible for me to pull my recorded programs off of the drive?

I've done extensive searches for these units and have come up with not very much. This unit has been an awesome system for me and I'd REALLY hate to lose my baby!!! :cry:

Any and ALL help is tremendously appreciated!

Thanks so much!
Jerry...

User avatar
andywilks
Moderator
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:38 am
Location: Pendle Witch Country, Lancs

Post by andywilks »

R-LK I think is remote lock or childproof mode . It has probably corrupted some eeprom settings and this is one result.

not sure how to remove that, but think if you hold power button on remote for 5 seconds.

don't know what format they use, it was just explained as an mpeg2 transport stream

regards
Andrew

jerrymc
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:37 pm

DR-MH30S "R-LK"

Post by jerrymc »

andywilks wrote:R-LK I think is remote lock or childproof mode . It has probably corrupted some eeprom settings and this is one result.

not sure how to remove that, but think if you hold power button on remote for 5 seconds.

don't know what format they use, it was just explained as an mpeg2 transport stream

regards
Andrew
Thanks Andrew:

I ended up taking the unit into JVC in Cypress, CA.
They told me their consumer electronics repair is no longer there, but in Texas, but they went ahead and repaired the unit.

They said the DVD drive was bad, which I've known for years, but that's what was causing the "R-LK" errors... hmmmm?? Never heard of that.
They replaced the DVD drive/burner and reimaged the hard drive, which is what I suspected in the first place.
The unit is working fine now, but I'm tempted to image the hard drive to a new one just in case.
The only downside of this unit is the fact that there's no QAM tuner for digital and/or HD stations.

I did purchase the Magnavox MDR515H/F7 DVR (500GB HD) from WalMart, but I'm on my third unit in less than a month. Though it has a QAM digital and analog tuner, the analog tuner is quite grainy. The units tend to freeze/lock up while recording on an analog station, but the digital recordings are crystal clear. I think it's the signal coming from my CableTV provider here in CA. (Time Warner)
The MDR515H/F7 tends to constantly fine tune the analog stations so the video and audio go in and out in spurts. (At least it does that after the first couple minutes upon initial Power On.)

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Magnavox-MDR5 ... r/15080509

There's a lot more about these new Magnavox/Funai units on this forum, if you're interested...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost ... ount=11724

Thanks again for the help!
Jerry...

Post Reply