JVC DRM10 DRMH20 DRMH30 loading or sound problems

For all discussions regarding JVC DVD recorders.

Moderator: andywilks

Victory
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:29 pm

Post by Victory »

If your satisfied the PSU is repaired, then only the Digital Board or the HDD will cause constant `Loading`.
Make sure you discharge the 400V primary electrolytic input cap before changing the Regulator. The charge should have dissipated but it sounds like there may be a fault lurking there.
It`s looking like a HDD fault.

User avatar
andywilks
Moderator
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:38 am
Location: Pendle Witch Country, Lancs

Post by andywilks »

I would also try replacing the small 22u C5340? on the psu board, seems insignificant but will keep it flashing loading despite all the big caps having been changed

User avatar
vidaesunlibro
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 9:34 pm

Post by vidaesunlibro »

i have replaced c5340 as it was one of the faulty ones but still hasn't made a difference. the postal strikes mean that my regulator won't be here for another few days :evil:

Thanks for everyones help so far.

techbabe
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: durham

Post by techbabe »

hi, i am new to this site and came across it while looking for information for the jvc DR-MH30SEK,last night early this morning it has come up with a fault the screen constantly displays loading and none of the buttons work thought it may be the HDD corrupt, stuck in another hdd and the same thing happens is there any software that is preprogrammed on the hdd that it may be looking for as we do not want to format the hdd. if all else goes wrong my hubby will pleased as he will have a spare 160hdd.

thought it was quite good that it was made out of computer components hdd and drive and was wondering if it could be upgradable to a bigger drive if needed.

after reading this thread not sure what is wrong it, advice gratefully appreciated

techbabe
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: durham

Post by techbabe »

can anyone confirm that this hdd should be able to be read by the pc as he has tried it in the pc and although the bios sees it windows says it is of un-recognised format

Victory
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:29 pm

Post by Victory »

Unfortunately, testing the HDD in windows was a bad idea. Windows writes to the HDD at bootup, and this will have overwritten critical data on the Filesystem/MBR.
Your original `Loading` problem was probably due to an ageing PSU or Digiboard which were, respectively, easily fixed and not easily fixed.
A HDD fault cannot be discounted, but now you definately have a bad HDD.
All the above can be rectified.
How long have you had the machine ?
Did it display any faulty symptoms prior to this ?

DarkMark
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:15 am

Post by DarkMark »

Hello,

I'm on to my third DR-MH30SEK, but now this has suffered the loading problem. The first was DOA, the second I had for six months or so before it crashed and couldn't get past flashing loading. This went back to JVC and was swapped out for another unit but now, after another year and a half, number three has the loading problem too.

I've opened the unit up but could not see any obviously blown or bulging components. Admittedly I'm not that hot on electronics so I could have something.

The unit has often crashed and normally takes 20 minutes or so of loading to recover. I'd say 95% of the time, the crash happens whilst deleting or dividing a recording.

In the most recent case - which is hasn't recovered from, I was recording to a DVD while deleting something from the hard disk when the crash occurred. From memory, I think this is same circumstances as when my previous unit died. This makes me wonder whether there is some glitch which makes the unit unable to recover from crashes when it is writing to a DVD - could it be trying to boot from a DVD instead of the HD?

What do you think the chances of getting it working again are - ideally without losing the recordings on the HD?

Thanks
Mark

Victory
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:29 pm

Post by Victory »

Hi Mark,

Sounds very much like your PSU is the root cause.
It is likely, given the age of your machine, that the Digital Board has not been modified, which can also cause these problems.
The existing recordings on your HDD can be recovered with the JVC Pro Advisor software.
In short, Modify the Digital Board, Refurb the PSU and run the HDD software to upgrade your firmware.
Easy eh ?
:shock:

atari
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 2:04 am

Post by atari »

whre I can dl this software I need it badly
I replace dead hd & need to make it working

User avatar
andywilks
Moderator
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:38 am
Location: Pendle Witch Country, Lancs

Post by andywilks »

There is no where to download it. Its 140Mb that needs to go on a disc.


I'm not certain the UK version will be the same for other countries e.g. Yugoslavia :cry:

DavidF
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 10:46 pm
Location: Sheffield, England

Post by DavidF »

Hi, does the JVC Pro Advisor software allow the recordings to be recovered to a PC or just cloned to a new drive. I have a DRMH30 which hangs on loading, it has a couple of months warranty left but I would like to recover the recordings as the drive is about 80% full. I noticed that the increase in time to load, which came on over the last 3 months, appears worse when the drive is more full. Is this something others have seen or my imagination?
David

mycroft
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:20 pm

Post by mycroft »

hello,

If the Maxtor under windows to reading, and since boots the DR-HM20 no longer high.

Who can help me?

User avatar
andywilks
Moderator
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:38 am
Location: Pendle Witch Country, Lancs

Post by andywilks »

I will try, but I will need a better explanation of your problem.

Andrew

mycroft
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:20 pm

Post by mycroft »

On DR-MH20 comes only LOADING.

I believe windows deleted the MBR on the Maxtor, before I drive in winxp connected all worked.

User avatar
andywilks
Moderator
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:38 am
Location: Pendle Witch Country, Lancs

Post by andywilks »

Following my instructions at the top of this forum, have you fixed the power supply capacitors.?

Only then do you check the HDD and if necessary recover it.
Andrew

Post Reply