HD not boot

For all discussions regarding the JVC HM-HDS4 (80GB hard disk and S-VHS recorder)

Moderators: Geert Jan, andywilks

Post Reply
zoritsu
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:49 am

HD not boot

Post by zoritsu » Fri Jul 28, 2006 6:52 pm

Hello:
An icon has been lit flashing in the display. The blue light of
functioning of the hard disk is subdued. I have proved to connect it
to the current having touched the buttons of ignition and stop.

You have idea of that it can mean and of his possible solution.

Thank you.

User avatar
Andy Cippico
Site Admin
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 8:54 am
Location: England

Post by Andy Cippico » Fri Aug 04, 2006 2:37 pm

Hi zoritsu,

Sorry, I don't have an answer for that. I don't know the HDS4 very well. Perhaps Andrew W (moderator on this forum) has an idea.

Andy

User avatar
andywilks
Moderator
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:38 am
Location: Pendle Witch Country, Lancs

Post by andywilks » Fri Sep 29, 2006 11:25 am

Sorry not to have responded earlier.

Its difficult to establish exactly what symptoms you have.

If you are getting odd characters on the (front panel) display and the blue light flashing then its trying to boot. Only when successful does it remain lit blue constantly. random display characters is an indicator of a more serious problem than just HDD corruption however.

resistor
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 6:11 pm

Post by resistor » Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:12 am

Hi

I seem to have exactly this same problem. There is an icon comprising a straight line and an arrow pointing to the right. The blue light for the hard drive does not come on. I had this same problem some time ago at which time i left the hard drive unplugged for about 24 hours and it then seemed to reset itsel. I have tried it this time but without success. Any advice would be appreciated.

resistor
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 6:11 pm

Post by resistor » Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:13 am

one other thing. The vhs side of things is working fine.

User avatar
andywilks
Moderator
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:38 am
Location: Pendle Witch Country, Lancs

Post by andywilks » Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:47 pm

It is most likely the HDD which is failing. A common problem is that the drive when warm will act up. Letting it cool down may temporarily provide a cure. If now it can't fully boot due to corruption, then you need either to clone a working drives image to the HDD, if the drive is still physically ok or more likely you'll need a fresh drive (with JVC OS on it)

I can provide complete new drives with image for ?75- tested too!

resistor
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 6:11 pm

Post by resistor » Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:03 am

This is not a drive problem as I have tried two cloned drives which I have tested previously.

User avatar
andywilks
Moderator
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:38 am
Location: Pendle Witch Country, Lancs

Post by andywilks » Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:18 am

In that case there must be a problem with the processing for the digital section- something I have not had happen before.

If it can be intermittent then its possible one of the processing IC's or memory Ics might have dry joints on the legs/pins. Its not really a DIY job to attempt to find them though.

zoritsu
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:49 am

the same has happened again

Post by zoritsu » Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:03 am

Hello:

Today have happened three electrical interruptions of approximately four seconds each one, and it has happened again.

I remember that the previous time was a fall of tension prolonged during the night.

Do I go to open the team to look if there is some switch of rearming or reset? Thank you. Luis

User avatar
andywilks
Moderator
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:38 am
Location: Pendle Witch Country, Lancs

Post by andywilks » Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:24 am

There is no internal 'reset' switch .
If the blue light does not stay on then the hard drive has become corrupt. The machine has a very limited ability to recover from this corruption. Normally we just have to clone a working 'image' from a good drive to it. you will of course lose all recordings you had. :(

zoritsu
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:49 am

Post by zoritsu » Fri Nov 09, 2007 12:50 pm

Hi:

What possibilities do I have of obtaining the image?
It is the same that the HM-HDS1?

Thank you. Luis

User avatar
andywilks
Moderator
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:38 am
Location: Pendle Witch Country, Lancs

Post by andywilks » Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:17 pm

The only successful way to do it is a direct clone of the drive. We have tried to rip an image but JVC fill the entire 80Gb with random data that won't compress when trying to put that on a DVDr.

I have UK discs to be able to use, (is yours UK spec?) so I would need you to post the drive here for me to clone for you.

Post Reply